Meghalaya Backpacking

₹20999 for 6 Days 5 Nights

Description

Offering a variety of mind blowing landscapes, interesting activities and mouth watering food and colorful festivals, Meghalaya is truly one of the most heavenly beautiful states positioned in North-East India. Known as the ‘Abode of Clouds’, Meghalaya is home to some of the world’s most diverse ecosystems. Experience the colonial influence in Shillong (capital of Meghalaya), visit Asia’s cleanest village Mawlynnong or explore the Living Double-decker Root Bridge. From verdant valleys, lush hills to pristine lakes and refreshing waterfalls, this stunning state has so much for every kind of wanderlust soul. Meghalaya has a history of rich craftsmanship when it comes to wood-carving and artistic weaving. A perfect vacay in nature’s lap, Meghalaya lies comfortably between Bangladesh in the South and Brahmaputra valley in the North. Meghalaya is a once in a while kind of experience that you must plan for either solo or with your favourite travel clan.

Itinerary

  • Day 1

    Guwahati Arrival | Umiam Lake | Shillong Chill Scenes

    Assemble at the boarding point in Guwahati (airport/railway station) and start a chilled-out journey to Shillong. Socialize with your co-travellers while enjoying mesmerizing landscapes of lush green hills and Umiam Lake.

    After arriving in Shillong, visit Laitlum Grand Canyon and take a halt for a hearty lunch.

    Post a nice drive and exploration, check-in to our comfy accommodation, freshen-up and have some leisure. 

    Make the most out of it by chilling with your travel clan at various quaint cafes in Shillong, soak in the colonial charm of Meghalaya’s capital and feel free to stroll around the streets.

    Overnight stay at Shillong.

  • Day 2

    Laitlum Grand Canyon | Cherrapunjee | Wei Sawdong Waterfall

    Wake up to a peaceful morning and post breakfast, drive towards the Laitlum Canyons which is a vantage point from where you get to see a panoramic view of the valleys of Meghalaya.

    Begin your drive towards Cherrapunjee.

    Upon our arrival in Cherrapunji, we'll check into our hotel where we'll spend the night.

    We’ll also visit Wei Swadong which is a three-tiered waterfall and is one of the most beautiful waterfalls in Meghalaya.

    Overnight stay at Cherrapunjee.

  • Day 3

    Living Root Bridges of Meghalaya

    Wake up early in the morning and post breakfast, head out towards Tyrna Village which acts as a base point for the living double-decker root bridge trek.

    Take a pit stop at the longest known living root bridge- Ritymmen Root Bridge. Trek ahead to reach the resplendent bridge, the Umshiang double decker bridge and capture some #InstaPerfect pictures. 

    In the evening, return to your accommodation in Cherrapunji and have leisure. 

    Overnight stay at Cherrapunjee.

  • Day 4

    Majestic Cherrapunji | Drive to Dawki

    Wake up early in the morning and post breakfast, explore the picturesque waterfall of Meghalaya namely Nohkalikai falls (the tallest plunge waterfall in India) and seven sister falls.

    Stroll inside the majestic Mawsmai Caves. Take a pitstop to treat yourself with a much-needed lunch.

    Post a great exploration day, begin your drive towards Dawki.

    Visit the Mawlynnong village, known as Asia’s cleanest village. Take a quick walk in the village.

    Overnight stay at Dawki.

  • Day 5

    Dawki Boat Ride | Krang Suri Waterfall 

    Wake up and head towards Dawki village and experience a boat ride on the crystal clear waters of the alluring Umngot river.

    Visit the checkpost at India- Bangladesh border and roam around in between the India- Bangladesh border which is an unbarbed area free of any strict army vigilance, unlike most border areas. Later, drive back to reach Shillong by evening.

    Begin your drive to Shillong from Dawki.

    En route, we'd visit the Krang Shuri waterfall which is one of the most beautiful waterfalls in Meghalaya with its silky cascading water. 

    After arriving in Shillong, check-in to our comfy accommodation and have leisure.

  • Day 6

    Shillong #MeTime | Trip Ends

    Wake up to a lazy morning and since this is your last day in Meghalaya. Hence make the most out of it post a delightful breakfast. Say goodbye to Meghalaya and drive towards Guwahati. 

    Trip ends with a heart full of numerous memories, fun amazing experiences and new bonds.


    Important Note

    Numerous factors such as weather, road conditions, the physical ability of participants etc. may cause itinerary change. In such a case, we will look for the best possible alternatives, as feasible. We reserve the right to change any schedule in the interest of safety, comfort and general wellbeing as per the call taken by locals, the driver and your trip leader.

Inclusions

  • Transportation: Force Traveler from Guwahati to Guwahati.
  • Accommodation on Sharing Basis: 2 Nights in Hotel at Shillong, 2 Nights in Hotel at Cherrapunji, 1 Night camping at Dawki.
  • Meals:  5 Breakfast & 1 Dinner in Dawki.
  • Experienced and cool trip leader.
  • Driver allowances, toll taxes, parking, state taxes and permits.

Exclusions

  • Any extra meals and stay arrangements apart from the ones mentioned under inclusions as per the itinerary.
  • Travel Insurance, items of a personal nature like porterage, tips, laundry etc.
  • Any entry fees, extra expenses for optional activities or tickets, unless quoted in Inclusions.
  • Any other costing involved due to circumstances like natural calamity, weather conditions, riots, roadblocks, landslides or any other forced circumstances which are out of our control.
  • Anything which is not mentioned in the above inclusions.
  • GST (5%) is applicable extra.

Departures

7th Jan (Saturday Morning) to 12th Jan (Thursday Evening) 

14th Jan (Saturday Morning) to 19th Jan (Thursday Evening) 

21st Jan (Saturday Morning) to 26th Jan (Thursday Evening) 

28th Jan (Saturday Morning) to 2nd Feb (Thursday Evening) 

4th Feb (Saturday Morning) to 9th Feb (Thursday Evening)

11th Feb (Saturday Morning) to 16th Feb (Thursday Evening)

18th Feb (Saturday Morning) to 23rd Feb (Thursday Evening)

25th Feb (Saturday Morning) to 2nd Mar (Thursday Evening) 

4th Mar (Saturday Morning) to 9th Mar (Thursday Evening)

11th Mar (Saturday Morning) to 16th Mar (Thursday Evening)

18th Mar (Saturday Morning) to 23rd Mar (Thursday Evening)

25th Mar (Saturday Morning) to 30th Mar (Thursday Evening)

1st Apr (Saturday Morning) to 6th Apr (Thursday Evening)

8th Apr (Saturday Morning) to 13th Apr (Thursday Evening)

15th Apr (Saturday Morning) to 20th Apr (Thursday Evening)

1st Oct (Saturday Morning) to 6th Oct (Thursday Evening)

8th Oct (Saturday Morning) to 13th Oct (Thursday Evening)

15th Oct (Saturday Morning) to 20th Oct (Thursday Evening)

22nd Oct (Saturday Morning) to 27th Oct (Thursday Evening)

29th Oct (Saturday Morning) to 3rd Nov (Thursday Evening)

5th Nov (Saturday Morning) to 10th Nov (Thursday Evening)

12th Nov (Saturday Morning) to 17th Nov (Thursday Evening)

19th Nov (Saturday Morning) to 24th Nov (Thursday Evening)

26th Nov (Saturday Morning) to 1st Dec (Thursday Evening)

3rd Dec (Saturday Morning) to 8th Dec (Thursday Evening)

10th Dec (Saturday Morning) to 15th Dec (Thursday Evening)

17th Dec (Saturday Morning) to 22nd Dec (Thursday Evening)

24th Dec (Saturday Morning) to 29th Dec (Thursday Evening)

28th Dec (Wednesday Morning) to 2nd Jan (Monday Evening)

Things to Pack

Waterproof and good quality backpack or rucksack/Trolly Bag

Warm woolen jackets, air/water resistant jackets, and extra pairs of socks to protect yourself from wind chill and low temperatures.

Sunglasses, comfortable clothing and sports shoes.

Personal water bottle (avoid single-use plastic) to avoid dehydration issues.

Quick snacks for journeys like dry fruits, biscuits, chocolates, energy bars, glucose sachets.

Personal care items, sunscreen lotion (prefer SPF30 or higher), lip balm, toiletries, wet wipes and hand sanitizer.

Medicines for motion sickness, fever, stomach ache, headache, cold, body pain and any other personal medicines.

Phone, camera, power banks and photography equipment.

ATMs and an adequate amount of cash for shopping, cafe visits.

Personal identity document like Aadhaar, driving licence, passport, etc, since it is needed for security checks.

Send Query To Our Representative